Spicy Chocolate: Chocolate Diablo Cookies

I am an absolute ‘freak’ for anything spicy, so when it also includes chocolate you can count me in.   During an episode on Cooking Channel, they were highlighing a food truck that served ‘Chocolate Diablo Cookies’.   My ears perked up instantly and I was off on an internet search…..and there are tons of recipes.   I searched my pantry for the necessary ingredients and realized I had everything needed AND since I can be a lazy baker, it was all in one bag of Betty Crocker Double Chocolate Chunk cookie mix…..homemade cookies in 20 minutes.   The only needed ingredient was cayenne pepper…..which I always have in the spice cabinet.   These cookies are chocolate with huge chocolate chunks, obviously the reason I had picked up the package at my trusty Wegmans.   A girl has to be prepared for a chocolate attack.    I followed the package instructions & added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper.   If you sprinkle a bit of sea salt on top prior to baking, it really pops the flavors even more.

There are no words to describe these marvelous concoctions.   Now I understand why people were standing in line at that food truck.   I made them for a Ravens tailgating party & my friends are in total agreement.   You can’t eat just one  !!!

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Now I have a batch made most of the time & I keep the cookie dough in the freezer.   When I feel the need for chocolate, it so easy to make just a few.   If not, the entire 3 dozen cookies would disappear I am sure.

In case you feel the need to make these from scratch….here is the recipe.

Chocolate Diablo Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup chocolate chips or chunks
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp kosher salt (or granulated sugar, if prefered)

Preheat oven to 375.  Lightly spray 2 baking sheets with oil.

Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, cayenne & cinnamon in large bowl.  Stir in chips.  Whisk eggs in a medium bowl.  Add both sugars, oil & vanilla.   Combine with dry.

Roll into balls & place on cookie sheet.  Slightly flatten & sprinkle with sea salt.

Bake in center of oven until cookies start to crack, 11-13 min.  They will be fudgy in the middle.   Cool & eat immediately.   Or store in covered container, if you have any leftovers.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Confections, Treats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

