Fresh & Healthy: Pink Hummus

I am a lover of hummus in all it’s varieties…..my favorites being roasted red pepper, spinach, black bean & 40-spice….but there are so many more choices.   I saw one the other day from 101 Cookbooks called Hummus with Green Goo….which is really good, but who wouldn’t love a name like that ??

After trying the Green Goo, I let my fingers do the walking with Google & my eyes (and my taste buds) caught sight of Pink Hummus made with beets.   I just happened to have leftover beets in the fridge from a salad I had made for a dinner party.   This stuff is amazing, so refreshing, super healthy and vibrant color & flavor.   Not sure if it is the beets, cinnamon or lemon….but there is a delightfully sweet taste that almost tingles your taste buds…..plus it is such a pretty color.  I used cannellini beans instead of chickpeas since they have a lighter flavor & would not overpower the taste of the beets.   So I say….Eat Pink !!!!

hot pink hummus

PINK HUMMUS  (adapted from Apron Springs blog)

3 cloves garlic, peeled
1 cup roasted beets, coarsely chopped  (if you must, use canned) 
1 can cannellini beans, drained & rinsed
juice and zest of one lemon
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 heaping tablespoons tahini
1 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)

Dump all the above in a food processor and obliterate !!  Actually I blend all the ingredients except the olive oil, which I add sparingly to get the consistency I want.    Plus, I tossed in some white pepper, too.   Enjoy !!

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Healthy, snack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

