Summer Cocktails: Arugula Mojito

Arugula Mojito….sounds really strange, right ??  Well if it is, then it is also delicious.

I tasted some arugula flowers from some plants that had gone to seed & they were really delicious.   The next day I saw a recipe for an Arugula Mojito & just had to try it.  It is made with gin instead of the normal rum in a mojito.    I pick up my CSA from One Straw Farm at the Wednesday Farmer’s Market & yup…..they had arugula.   Obviously I was meant to try this drink.     It tastes almost herbal, so it must be really healthy, eh ??            ” Salute!”    arugula mojito

ARUGULA MOJITO  (borrowed from Cooking Channel, Extra Virgin show)

  • Honey
  • Hot water
  • 1/2 cup arugula
  • 1 oz. freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 oz. gin
  • Ice
  • Mint sprig, to garnish (& cherry tomatoes, optional)

For the syrup: Add the honey to the hot water and stir to dissolve. Chill before using. 

For the mojito: Muddle the arugula, lime juice and 3/4 ounce honey syrup together. Add the gin. Shake and strain over ice. Serve in a rocks glass.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Mixology, Veggies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Cocktails: Arugula Mojito

  1. I popped into my friends bar last night and she wanted to make me a drink, next thing I’m watching her create this drink! I was thinking it could do with something a little more vegetal to compliment the rocket (arugula), I’ve got some Don Cuco Sotol being delivered this week so I might give it a bash in this drink with perhaps some celery bitters?

  2. Pat Thomas says:

    I’ve had this with arugula flowers, which are really good. Celery bitters, eh ?? New one for me.

Leave a Reply

