Shortcut Method: Homemade Bisquick

I’ve always enjoyed baking and usually from scratch.   I like the process of mixing and measuring, but I also like to eat healthy, avoiding the preservatives of buying grocery store mixes, whenever possible.   However, I am not a morning person and the odd thing is, I do like to eat in the morning.   So, a shortcut like homemade bisquick is a great option for me.    It can be the base for biscuits, pancakes, waffles, scones, quiche and enumerable more tasty concoctions that I enjoy……and can make quicker & easier from a  homemade mix.

Bisquick was created in the 1940s and at that time most cooks used lard in their biscuits.   In most baked goods, I use butter, olive oil or coconut oil but for homemade bisquick, I use Crisco.   Crisco has no trans-fats & 50% less saturated fat than butter, is all-vegetable and doesn’t require refrigeration.    Since you need ‘fat’ in baking, Crisco is a good option. As a child I remember the Crisco can always in the pantry, but I purchase it in sticks now.   The recipe was reworked in 2007 to make it more healthy, basically eliminating transfats.  It is a healthier substitute for butter in many pastry recipes.   And, they now make a butter flavored Crisco, if that suits you.

HOMEMADE BISQUICK

  • 5 cups flour  (I use white whole wheat & whole wheat mixed)
  • 1/4 cup baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar (splenda)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup Crisco (1 stick)

Mix together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly, preferable using food processor.
Store in an airtight container for up to 6 weeks or in the freezer for longer storage.
Makes approx: 6 cups

BISCUITS – For 6 biscuits, mix together 1/3 cup of milk for 1 cup of mix. Drop onto un-greased cookie sheets and bake @ 450ºF for 10-12 min.     Add any additional ingredients to dry mix (cheese, herbs, etc.) before adding the milk.

PANCAKES:  Combine 2 cups of mix with 1 cup milk and 2 eggs.   

WAFFLES:  Combine like pancakes but add 2 T. oil of choice

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Comfort, DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shortcut Method: Homemade Bisquick

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Pancakes with Cream Cheese Maple Drizzle | MI CUCINA ….at home in my kitchen

  2. Pingback: Apple Drop Doughnuts | familyrecipebooks

  3. Pingback: Crisco Biscuits | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

