Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Drop Scones

Sometimes I cook because I want to try a recipe I have seen or some ingredient I want to use.   Most often I am craving a particular thing.  This time it was the can of leftover pumpkin from making one of my comfort foods last week…..waffles.  I put the leftover on a front shelf where I saw it everytime I opened the fridge.  I am a true believer that pumpkin should never go to waste,  so I decided to try Pumpkin Biscuits made with Bisquick.  Then I saw the yogurt container, which was almost empty and remembered I had some mini-chocolate chips left from something I made at Christmas.  And, Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Drop Scones were created.  They are really moist and almost cake-like which I assume is from the yogurt.  Maybe they should be called Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Drop Muffins.  Whatever they are called, they are really good !!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Drop Muffins

Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.

2 cups Bisquick

2-3 T brown sugar

1 T pumpkin pie spice (or 1 tsp cinnamon & dash clove, nutmeg, ginger, cardamon) 

1/2 cup mini-chocolate chips

3/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup yogurt

1/2 cup milk (I use almond milk)

Turbinado sugar

Heat oven to 450 degrees.

Mix dry ingredients together completely, including chips.  Mix all wet ingredients & add to dry.  Blend with a spatula until all are combined.   Sprinkle tops with turbinado sugar.

Drop by large tablespoon on a greased or sprayed cookie sheet.  Bake for 15-18 minutes or until tops are slightly browned.   Serve warm.  If for some reason there are leftovers, keep in a ziplock bag on the counter for 1 day or in the fridge for 1 week. To re-warm, wrap in a paper towel & microwave for 15-30 seconds.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Comfort, dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Drop Scones

  1. Pingback: Mocha Pumpkin Pie for Breakfast | Silk & Tofu

Leave a Reply

