Veggie Wraps: Goat Cheese & Roasted Grape Wraps

Lately I’ve found myself really enjoying meatless meals.   Maybe it is because I read Meatless Mondays or Mark Bittman’s articles on Vegan Before 6.  Or it could be the beautiful fresh produce at the Farmer’s Market.   Then again, my new vegan friends have been influencing me by feeding me things that really taste good…..then tell me it is vegan.  I will never give up cheese, since it is required in the food pyramid, right ??   Looking back, my food choices are changing from meat being the main attraction to just being one of the items on the plate but not always.

One of my newer food choices is roasted fruits & vegetables.   Roasting intensifies the flavors yet keeps the freshness in texture & color.    Roasting on the grill works year around, especially in summer when the oven would heat up the kitchen.   In winter, I always use the oven, warming the kitchen & letting the flavors infuse the house.

Roasting fruit is newer to me & grapes got me started.   When the grapes ripen on the vine,   I crave recipes other than grape jelly & there are so many  I was shocked.   Roasted grape focaccia was my introduction, but then that is another topic.   Now when I buy a bag of grape & there are a bunch still left after a few days……pop them into the oven to roast.   Then I have Roasted Grape & Cheese Wraps.   This is a great combo as bruschetta as well. Actually, I’m not sure if this is dessert or lunch or an appetizer…..it is just good, anytime.

Roasted Grape & Goat Cheese Wraps

A bunch of seedless grapes, black or red
Olive oil
Fresh thyme
Salt & Pepper
Option:  Walnut, pecan, almond slivers or nut of choice

Roasted Grapes: Heat oven to 400F.   In a baking pan, mix the grapes, cover with EVOO until just glistening & stir in seasonings.   Bake for about 15 minutes until slightly blistered, shaking the pan occasionally.   You can use immediately, a few hours later or refrigerate for up to a week.

Wraps:  Warm small flour tortillas by steaming no more than 15 secs in a paper towel.    Spread with 1 T goat cheese, top with roasted grapes & add crunchy nuts of your choice.   Fold over or roll into a wrap.    Bite in & enjoy the bliss !!

1 tablespoon of olive oil, fresh thyme leaves, salt and pepper. Bake in the oven, shaking the pan occasionally, until the grapes are beginning to blister, about 15 minutes. You can use the roasted grapes immediately, or let them wait for several hours.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Bread, Cheese, snack and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

