Wannabe Veggie Wraps: Curried Wraps

Looked in the fridge & I had a little bit of this, little bit of that.   What do you do with all those bits….and the answer is: Curry.   A couple of my foodie friends are into curry, plus I’ve seen some stuff on the food channels, so I decided I could try it too.   It all started with leftover curried mushrooms (which were very tasty by the way).   So I put a pit of olive oil in a skilled & started tossing things in:  leftover curried mushrooms, the last of a head of cauliflower & a small sweet potato sliced thin.   As this was ‘stir-frying’ I noticed what lovely fall colors…..but they were missing something.   Stuck my head in the fridge and came out with what was left of some oven-roasted cherry tomatoes….now that made the color of the dish pop.   It occurred to me this lovely curry dish would be good with a few crumbles of goat cheese.   And, there in the cheese drawer were a few fresh shrimp which needed to be used soon.   So much for veggie curry…..in they went too.   With so many added ingredients, I sprinkled on a bit more curry powder.  As all the flavors blended I pondered….so how do I serve this now ??  Back to the fridge…..and there were a few flour tortillas in a ziplock.   And there you have it folks…..Wannabe Veggie Wraps….or  Mushroom, Sweet Potato, Cauliflower, Oven-Roasted Tomato and Shrimp Curry Wraps.

They were delicious, too !!  My friends enjoyed a tasty meal as we all marveled at the creativity of this ‘gourmet’ cooking.    Oh yeah….I got all the shrimp since I was dining with vegetarians.

(No photo available….we were too busy eating.)

Mushroom/Sweet Potato/Cauliflower/Oven-Roasted Tomato/Shrimp Curry Served as a Wrap,   adapted from leftovers in the fridge

About a cup of curried mushrooms

About a cup of cauliflower, in small pieces

1 small sweet potato, quartered & sliced thin

A handful of oven-roasted cherry tomatoes

6 shrimp, peeled

More curry powder, adjust to taste

A few crumbles of goat cheese (or feta, queso blanco or fresca)

In a skillet on medium heat, toss in all of the above.   Saute until warm but veggies are still crunchy, stirring occasionally.   Inhale the aroma & observe the beautiful color of your creation.   Warm a flour tortilla in the microwave (wrapped in a paper towel) for about 15 seconds.   Put some of the curry in the middle, fold over……ENJOY !!

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Entrees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

