Cleaning the Fridge: Cottage Cheese Pancakes

I’ve mentioned before that 101 Cookbooks is one of my inspirations, right ??  I’m very new to blogging as well as adding more vegetarian meals to my repertoire.  I’ve always been a healthy cook since my husband was a marathoner and we had 3 boys who were all athletes.    Our bodies are what we eat….and then there is that exercise thing, too.   The McCartney Meatless Monday cookbook as well as Bittman’s Vegan Before 6 articles have also inspired me to try things I would never have thought to make.   Whenever I try something from 101 Cookbooks, it is a delight.   So when I found the cottage cheese on the back of the top shelf, I found the Cottage Cheese Bread (previous post) as well as Cottage Cheese Pancakes.   They became Cottage Cheese Pancakes with Spinach, Oven-Dried Cherry Tomatoes, Walnuts & Harissa-Maple Syrup….and they are sooooo good !!!

COTTAGE CHEESE PANCAKES  (adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

1 cup cottage cheese
3/4 cup milk
4 room temperature eggs, separated
1 cup  spinach, chopped fine  ( raw, frozen or sauteed)

10 oven-dried cherry tomatoes, minced

15 walnuts, toasted and chopped coarse

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

butter, for cooking

In a large bowl mix the cottage cheese, milk, and egg yolks until smooth. Stir in the spinach, tomatoes & walnuts.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg until they are frothy.

Mix the dry ingredients in a 3rd bowl.  Stir gently until just combined. Gently fold in the eggs with a spatula.  (original recipe whipped the egg whites separately)

To cook, warm a griddle or pan over medium heat with a bit of melted butter.  Ladle 3 T of batter for each pancake onto griddle.   Cook slowly to heat thru & get a golden crust.  Work in batches, keeping the cooked pancakes warm in a 225F oven or the microwave.

To serve, eat with butter & salt only.  Or, pesto swirled yogurt.   I added harissa paste to maple syrup, which was just the right hint of spicy & sweet for my tastes.

Makes ~1 1/2 dozen medium pancakes.   Recipe can be halved easily.

Pancakes can be stored in fridge or freezer by laying waxed or freezer wrap between each & then placing in an air-tight zip-lock.  Reheat wrapped in a paper towel in the microwave.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Bread, Breakfast, Veggies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

