Spicy & Sweet: Habanero Gold

If you like going to the farmer’s market and bringing home fresh, local produce and then you think….what can I make with this ?? …..then you should visit Mrs. Wheelbarrow’s Kitchen.  She has really creative (and absolutely delicious) jam recipes.   I recently brought home red peppers & habaneros and then I found Habanero Gold from Mrs. Wheelbarrow, which suggested adding dried apricots…..the perfect addition to make this pepper jelly into pure gold !!

It is fabulous with goat cheese on crackers or bread, however it would make a great complement to just about any cheese; manchego, camembert.  I just made fresh ricotta so we’ll be trying bruschetta with ricotta & Habanero Gold this week. On my list is Cheese Thumbprints with Habanero Gold filling.   And, I really like savory jellies on meats, but don’t tell my vegetarian friends, ok ??   Enjoy !!!

The original recipe gives canning instruction, however my standard freezer jam.  And, to ensure I get the gel-set I want, I keep my trusty jar of low-sugar pectin handy.    The amount of sugar in the raw ingredients is always different.

Photo coming soon…. this is a really beautiful jelly…..great as a gift !!  

Habanero Gold  (adapted from Mrs. Wheelbarrow)
Makes about twelve 4 oz. jars

8 habaneros, stemmed and seeded, then minced to make 1/2 cup

2 sweet Italian red peppers, stemmed and seeded, then minced to make 1/2 cup

1 medium red onion, minced

8 oz. dried apricots, minced

1-1/2 c apple cider vinegar

3 c white sugar ( I used splenda)

2 c clover or wildflower honey

Option:  1 T. low sugar pectin

Put everything in a food processor and pulse until all is minced in small bits but not a complete mush.   Or, you can hand mix wearing gloves since the habaneros will burn.  Even after washing my hands, I have touched my eyes or lips & wished I hadn’t .

Put everything into a deep, non-reactive pot and bring the mixture to a boil.   Stir frequently to ensure nothing sticks or burns.  The foam will begin to disperse when you are getting close to the end. When you get a solid boil you can’t stir down, boil hard for ten minutes.   Add pectin and boil hard for 2 minutes.   Cool for 10 minutes & ladle into freezer containers.   Will keep in fridge for 1 month or in freezer for 1 year.

Mrs. Wheelbarrow’s Gel Set Instructions:   The jelly will set at about 228°. Turn off the heat and let it sit for three minutes.  After the rest, here are the signs you have achieved good gel set. The surface of the jelly should wrinkle when pushed. And all those pretty pepper pieces will not be floating on the surface, but will be distributed throughout the jelly. If you like it firmer, boil longer, but be careful. It’s easy to go from jelly to rubber.If there is still a little foam, and you like the set, add a pinch of butter to rid yourself of foam.   Original Recipe also includes canning process.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Breakfast, Preserves and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

