Cleaning Out the Fridge: Cottage Cheese Bread with Oven-Dried Tomatoes

I would never have expected that cleaning out the refrigerator could taste soooo good !!

Way in the back of the top shelf was a carton of cottage cheese which was fast approaching the ‘use by date’.   The weather has gotten cooler so I decided to find something to bake with cottage cheese.   And there, on the 101 Cookbooks website (which is one of my inspirations)….was a Cottage Cheese muffin recipe using sun-dried tomatoes.  I’d just made Oven-Roasted Cherry tomatoes the day before….another result of cleaning the fridge.   The recipe calls for parmesan cheese but I had a little asiago (another leftover in the cheese drawer) so I used a combo of parm & asiago.  You could even use pecorino but I would reduce the salt.  I didn’t have almond flour, so I ground up whole almonds in my Magic Bullet.   This is not a heavy, dense bread like many fruity quick breads.  It is quite light and tantalizes your mouth with great flavors.   I’ve never made savory quick breads, but this really yummy.  Definitely a ‘can’t eat just one slice’  !!!

COTTAGE CHEESE BREAD with Oven Roasted Tomatoes

adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1 cup plain cottage cheese (non-fat or low-fat works)
3/4 cup parmesan cheese, freshly grated (used combo parm & asiago)
1/4 cup flour
1 cup almonds, very finely ground
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup oven-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
1/4 cup basil, finely chopped
1/4 cup water
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400F degrees. Spray loaf pans with olive oil.

Reserve 1/4 cup parmesan cheese.   Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix together.

Spoon the mixture into the loaf pan 3/4 full, scatter with the remaining Parmesan, and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until set, risen, and golden brown. Serve as hot or at room temperature.

Makes 1 loaf or 3 small loaf tins.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Bread, Veggies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning Out the Fridge: Cottage Cheese Bread with Oven-Dried Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Cleaning Out The Fridge: Oven Roasted Cherry Tomatoes | MI CUCINA ….at home in my kitchen

Leave a Reply

