Farmer’s Market – Fresh Corn Salad

I really love the Farmer’s Market this time of year….and my refrigerator was packed after my last visit.   Local corn, tomatoes, red onions, strawberries, blackberries, eggs, milk, purple basil…..the colors are beautiful and every thing looks sooooooo good !!  

A got my first fresh corn of the summer and couldn’t wait taste it.  A few years back a friend served Fresh Corn Salad for a BBQ and shared her recipe.   Sharing ‘the recipe’ is a bit of an exaggeration since it was….’it’s just this and that and some of the other.’   Everytime I take it to a BBQ the same thing happens….’how do you make this ??’  It really is one of those fabulous things you just throw together & if you like corn and tomatoes, then this is the fresh summer salad for you.

Since I’m also very motivated by Mark Bittman’s Vegan Before 6 diet, I have been focused on enjoying the great fresh vegetables of summer.   By the way, I saw where he just signed a book deal for the VB6 diet….coming Spring 2013….just in time for next year’s fresh veggie crop.    I digress as I’m sitting here finishing the last of the bowl I made yesterday, so I thought I would try to actually create a recipe for my blog.   Bon Appetit !!


FRESH CORN SALAD

4 ears fresh corn

1/2 red onion

2 medium tomatoes or 20 cherry tomatoes

Peppercorn Ranch dressing

Salt

Clean corn & cook in microwave, 2-3 min per ear.   Dice red onion & tomatoes, approximately the size of a corn kernel.  Cut corn from the cob & stir all together.

Dress with peppercorn ranch, salt to taste & refrigerate for at least an hour for flavors to meld.   The recipe is easily doubled & it is actually better the next day, if it lasts that long.

NOTE:   I have also used canned corn niblets when fresh corn was unavailable  as well as added diced fresh jalapenos, when entertaining hotties.   If you have fresh herbs, add some chopped chives or a bit of fresh basil.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Salad, Veggies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

