Farmer’s Market: Purple Basil & Blackberry Ice Cream

The belly rules the mind.  ~Spanish Proverb

Oh my, but I just love summer !!  It is so hot I just had to make ice cream (again !! ),  which I have to admit is my favorite ‘food’.   If given the choice, I would take ice cream over chocolate.   Quite an admission from a chocoholic.

I had purchased several bundles of absolutely beautiful purple basil from One Straw Farm,  plus I had fresh milk from Prigel Family Creamery and local blackberries.   Yes, I also had fresh local eggs but I decided to try an egg-less, no-cook recipe to maximize the flavors.  Technically this is probably a gelato.  I managed my guilt by using Splenda instead of sugar so I had to add a splash of Chambord to keep it from freezing too hard.   I have no shame since the result was fabulous !!    Bon Appetit !!

Purple Basil & Blackberry Ice Cream   (photo coming soon)                                                                                 Makes 1 quart

2 cups half & half                                                                                                                                2 large stalks purple basil, leaves only                                                                                           ½ cup Splenda                                                                                                                                    3 tablespoons lime zest                                                                                                                      2 tablespoons vanilla extract                                                                                                            1 cup blackberry sauce & splash of Chambord

Combine milk & basil in saucepan, bring to simmer; do not boil.   Allow to steep 10 minutes or until cooled to room temperature.    Pour in blender and puree.  Blend lime zest into sugar/Splenda, then add to milk mixture, stirring until fully dissolved.   Add blackberry sauce & Chambord.    Chill in freezer for 1 hour or refrigerate overnight.   Process in ice cream maker.  Transfer to covered freezer container  and allow to ripen in freezer 2-3 hours.

Blackberry Sauce:  Boil 1 pint berries with 2-3 T. splenda and 1/4 c. water.   Crush berries & allow to cool.   I liked the seeds & semi-whole berries so I don’t strain the sauce.  It can be used as a simple syrup in aqua fresca, spritzers, cocktails, or as a dessert sauce.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farmer’s Market: Purple Basil & Blackberry Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Tequila (Vodka) por mi Amante | MI CUCINA ….at home in my kitchen

Leave a Reply

