HOT!! Brick Oven Pizza

Gathering with a bunch of people to make brick oven pizza was some of the most fun I have had in forever.   Our host is a culinary arts instructor with a brick oven in his back yard.   For me, this kicked off a month-long obsession with bread baking & exploring no-knead recipes.   That’s right….patience(needed for bread) is not my virtue AND I also don’t follow recipes well instead cooking to taste.  Doesn’t work in the world of baking, where chemistry is the by-word.     So, back to DIY pizza in another’s oven.

We brought the toppings and the host provided the oven & the pizza dough.   Above is my pesto, chicken, grape, bleu cheese pizza….bursting with flavor.   But at 900F degrees everything takes notice.    It was soooo good I was immediately obsessed with dough and my chosen apprenticeship was Bread in 5 minutes A Day.    What fun I had  (and the neighbors enjoyed it too) making a different bread each day.     I turned anything I could find into pizza:  roasted brussel sprouts, fig & camembert,  spicy chicken & salsa,  roasted artichokes,  hummus  and then margherite.    From there it was foccacia, bread sticks, baquettes, ciabatta, whole wheat loaf, rolls & even more.   Then it got hot….so no more heating up the kitchen for a bit….at least until 100 isn’t the daily norm.   My neighbors look at me with a “Well, where is my food gift today?” and my friends can’t understand why we don’t have regular picnics anymore.    I shrug and say….it was a phase.   Not True !!    The no-knead recipes make enough for 3-5 loaves and last up to 2 weeks in the refrigerator.   It is easy, fun and tastes marvelous.    Even Jacque Pepin has a non-knead which is mixed, stored, raised & baked in the same pan…..a dutch oven.    On top of that, I got to buy some new kitchen tools…..so there will be more bread posts in the near future.    I feel like Toto & I are back in Kansas in the wheat fields, where Moms bake fresh bread everyday.    OK, so that was 50 years ago.

No more grocery store pizza dough !!!

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

