Summer Spicy: Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup

I don’t usually make soups in the summer, especially spicy soups.   However I got this huge head of cauliflower in my CSA at the Farmer’s Market from One Straw Farm.  So, after making a bunch of it roasted, I still had enough left to be called an entire cauliflower.   And, it has been rainy….oh, so rainy everyday & unexpectedly cool for August.   Suddenly curried cauliflower came to mind & one of my favorite soups.   I did this soup after a day of hiking the Appalachian Trail for the group I belong to & everyone wanted seconds.   Yup, it is that good.   I make mine pretty spicy at home, but with a group I usually do it a bit tamer and put the bottle of sriracha within easy reach.   Hope you like it….Chow !!!


Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup
(adapted from Food & Wine)

1 head cauliflower, cut in florets
1 large onion, chopped
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded & minced
4 teaspoons curry powder  
3 cups vegetable or chicken broth
1 can coconut milk (regular or lite)
2 tablespoons oil
1/4 tsp cayenne (or more according to your taste)
fresh cilantro, if available, or dried
fresh basil, if available, preferably Thai basil
thinly sliced jalapeno & cilantro or basil, for garnish
diced chicken breasts (optional)

 

Heat oil in a large pot & add onions, garlic & pepper.  Cook on medium until onion is transparent & then stir in curry powder.  Toss & heat together for about 1 minute.      Add broth & cauliflower, then bring to a boil.  Lower heat to simmer & cook, uncovered until cauliflower is almost tender.   Add coconut milk, cayenne & cilantro bringing soup back to a low boil or simmer for 5-10 minutes.    Adjust seasonings to taste.   Serve topped with diced chicken, chopped cilantro/basil & pepper slices.
OPTION: Some like this soup blended & served as a puree.  I prefer the chunky texture, myself.

About Pat Thomas

As an amateur gourmet who loves what food brings to our lives other than the needed nutrition. I share all my foodie experiments with friends & family. Thankfully they are usually delighted but always kind with whatever I've cooked up.
This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Spicy: Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup

  1. Amy says:

    Sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

